Hitting the Reset Button

This blog lacks direction, something that I’m working on determining. In the meantime I’m spending the next week doing something that I haven’t done in over 2 years.

I’m on vacation.

I haven’t booked a week away on a beach in a foreign country. I am not going on a road-trip through parts of this country. I am not going to see friends from college or family that I rarely see. The truth is that I have nothing planned and it’s exactly what I want to do.

A vacation for me at this point is a solid week of no schedules. For as long as I can remember I have been marching to orders that were not my own, whether it is my work schedule, my social schedule or even a vacation schedule. For the next week my life is unscripted… ad hoc… a completely foreign concept, and at the same time relevant for me with my 29th birthday also this week.

Time to reflect on what my own personal new year will bring, but one thing that’s for certain is that it will be on my own time.

Leave a Reply

